How to obtain Illinois concealed carry permit
Share
Illinois Concealed Carry Permit:
IL requires a 16 hour course with an instructor certified by the Illinois State Police. The course should cover, handgun operation and mechanisms. IL specific laws surrounding use of force and a firearms safety competent. Current and former members of the military are exempt from the full 16 hours of training but must take a course of at least 8 hours in the classroom. IL also requires 1 hours of range with a live fire shooting qualification passing with a score of 70% or higher shooting 25 rounds total.
IL also requires you to renew your permit every 5 years after obtaining it by taking at least a 3 hour training with an Illinois State Police certified instructor shooting a live-fire qualification passing with a score of 70% or higher shooting 25 rounds total.
There are is a residency requirements to be issued a IL Concealed Carry permit. IL only issues non-resident permits to residents of the following states: Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas, or Virginia, and hold a valid resident permit issued by your state of residence..